Allan Shaw

Allan Shaw, CM, is Chairman of The Shaw Group.  He is past Chair, Dalhousie Medical Research Foundation; Member, Advisory Board, Dalhousie University Faculty of Management; past Director of Scotiabank; past Chair, Canadian Centre for Ethics in Public Affairs (CCEPA); past Member, Board of Trustees, Ernest C. Manning Awards Foundation, Calgary; past Chair, Canadian Policy Research Networks Inc., Ottawa; past Chair, Atlantic Provinces Economic Council; and past Chair, Nova Scotia Voluntary Planning.  In 1978 Allan Shaw and his colleague, Syd Acker, headed the process whereby the Company’s senior managers purchased the business from the Shaw Family, creating the model of a successful owner-operated and managed business that continues today.  The Company, L.E. Shaw Limited, became The Shaw Group in the 1990s.  Allan served as CEO until 2005.

Terence Bird

Terence Bird is the retired Vice President Corporate Development & Emerging Markets, McCain Foods Limited.  He is a past Director of Atlantic Hydrogen Inc. and past Trustee of The Canadian University of Dubai.  He is the former Chairman, President, and CEO of Bruncor Inc. and CEO of Day and Ross Inc.

Bill Black

Bill Black, CM, retired in 2004 after a 34-year career with Maritime Life, including nine years as the company’s President and CEO.  He is a Fellow of the Canadian Institute of Actuaries (Ret’d).  His community and industry leadership roles include Lead Director, Bank of Canada; Deputy Chair, Standard Life of Canada; Chairman of the IWK Children’s Hospital in Halifax; President of the Metropolitan Halifax Chamber of Commerce; Chair of Symphony Nova Scotia; Vice-Chair, Board of Governors, Dalhousie University.

Lydia S. Bugden

Lydia Bugden is the Chief Executive Officer and Managing Partner of Stewart McKelvey.  Previously, Lydia has held roles as in-house counsel for The TDL Group Ltd and The Consumers Gas Company Limited / Enbridge Inc.  In addition to The Shaw Group Holding Limited, Lydia sits on the board of Scotia Investments Limited and is the Chair of the Board of the QEII Health Sciences Centre Foundation.

Fred Cahill

Fred Cahill is the owner and President of the Cahill Group, with offices in Newfoundland and Labrador, Nova Scotia, New Brunswick, and Alberta. The Cahill Group is one of the largest multi-disciplinary construction and fabrication companies in Atlantic Canada and has been recognized by Deloitte as one of Canada’s Best Managed Companies.  Fred is a Fellow with the Canadian Academy of Engineering.  He is the Chair of the Genesis Centre and Chair of the MUN Engineering and Applied Sciences Advisory Council.  He is also a member of the Board of Directors for The Shaw Group in Nova Scotia and NL Power a Fortis company.

Louis Forbes

Mr. Forbes is a trustee of Automotive Properties REIT and Flagship Communities REIT. He retired in 2018 as Senior Vice President and Chief Financial Officer of CT Real Estate Investment Trust and has over 30 years of real estate and finance experience. Prior to his appointment as Chief Financial Officer of CT Real Estate Investment Trust, Mr. Forbes was the Executive Vice President and Chief Financial Officer of Primaris Retail REIT from 2003 to 2013. Prior to serving in that role, Mr. Forbes was Vice President, Director and Senior Canadian Real Estate Equities Analyst of Merrill Lynch Canada, where he was responsible for covering North American real estate securities. Mr. Forbes also served as Vice President Finance and Chief Financial Officer of Revenue Properties Company Limited. Mr. Forbes is a CPA (CA) and holds a Bachelor of Science from McMaster University, and a Master of Business Administration from Queen’s University. Mr. Forbes completed the Chartered Director Program at the Directors College, McMaster University.

Bert Frizzell

Bert Frizzell is Vice-Chairman of The Shaw Group.  He is a Director of Heritage Gas and is a member of Acadia University Board of Governors.  His past roles include:  Director, Nova Scotia Business Inc., Director, LED Roadway Lighting, Director of Concrete Masonry Producers Association of Canada, Treasurer and Past Chair of Clay Brick Association of Canada,  Director of Masonry Canada, and Director of National Concrete Masonry Association (USA).

David Hoffman

David Hoffman is Vice Chair of the Bragg Group and its related companies, which includes Eastlink, Oxford Frozen Foods, Inland Technologies, real estate, hotel operations, and the South Canoe Wind Farm.  He is a Fellow of the Canadian, Nova Scotian, and English Institutes of Chartered Accountants.  He chairs the Board of Halifax Seed Company and has been involved in corporate and non-profit community boards for many years, including Nova Scotia Textiles Ltd, Crossley Carpets Ltd, LED Roadway Lighting Ltd, chairing the Wild Blueberry Association of North America, the NS Community College Foundation, the National Trans Canada Trail Foundation, Cumberland YMCA, Metro United Way, Oxford Trails Association, The Cumberland Business Connector, and St. Joseph’s Children’s Centre.  David was conferred an Honorary Diploma by the NSCC, and in 2020 was invited to join the Junior Achievement NS Business Hall of Fame.

Dean Robertson

Dean Robertson is President and CEO of The Shaw Group.  Dean’s main focus is on growth strategy in manufacturing and real estate operations, talent strategy, and shareholder strategy.  His previous roles at The Shaw Group were President, VP Manufacturing, GM Prestige, and GM Shaw Wood.  Before joining The Shaw Group, he was GM, Lewis Mouldings in Weymouth NS, Owner, DE Robertson Consulting, NB, and Senior Coordinator MQP, McCain Foods.  Dean is a member of Engineers Nova Scotia.

Peter Woodward

Peter Woodward is President & CEO, Woodward Group of Companies in Happy Valley-Goose Bay, Labrador.  He has served as Chair of Labrador Health Corporation, Chair of Labrador College and Chair of the Premier’s Advisory Council.  He has also served on the boards of F.P. Resources and Newfoundland Power.